And finally… the jurors for Best Short Film & Best Animated Short

2013 AIFF Jurors Announced!

AIFF jurors represent a cross-section of leaders in the independent film community: accomplished filmmakers, curators, critics, industry professionals, and educators with original and diverse opinions.

We are honored to have this accomplished group dedicate the time and care it takes to view and discuss the diverse slate of films in competition this year.

The winners of the AIFF Juried and Audience Awards will be announced at our Awards Celebration, Sunday April 7th at 7:30p at the Historic Ashland Armory.

So far we’ve introduced you to our jurors for Best Documentary: Feature Length, Best Short Documentary, and Best Feature and Best Acting Ensemble, last but not least is…

Jurors: Best Short Film & Best Animated Short

Jon Raymond


Jon Raymond is the author of a collection of short stories, Livability, two of which became the feature films Old Joy and Wendy and Lucy (AIFF 2009). He wrote the film Meek’s Cutoff, co-wrote the HBO miniseries Mildred Pierce, and the forth-coming film Night Moves, shot in the Rogue Valley.




Mark Shapiro


Mark Shapirois Head Of Entertainment Brand Marketing at LAIKA. He manages brand strategies and marketing efforts for corporate identity and the company’s feature films. His diverse career has taken him across the U.S. and around the world, working in brand development, advertising, public relations, film production and writing.




Musa Syeed


Musa Syeed’s first feature Valley of Saints won a Sundance Audience Award, and Best Feature at the 2012 AIFF. He co-produced Bronx Princess and A Son’s Sacrifice (Best Documentary Short, AIFF 2009). He also co-produced the interactive storytelling platform 30 Days Ramadan, which was developed at the ITVS/ Mozilla Hackathon.