Introducing our jurors for Best Short Documentary

AIFF jurors represent a cross-section of leaders in the independent film community: accomplished filmmakers, curators, critics, industry professionals, and educators with original and diverse opinions.

We are honored to have this accomplished group dedicate the time and care it takes to view and discuss the diverse slate of films in competition this year.

The winners of the AIFF Juried and Audience Awards will be announced at our Awards Celebration, Sunday April 7th at 7:30p at the Historic Ashland Armory.

Next up on our list…

Jurors: Best Short Documentary

Mary Kerr


Mary Kerr is a seasoned film programmer, producer, and consultant. She has programmed for Sundance, Los Angeles, Gen Art, and SILVERDOCS film festivals. She recently left her position as Executive Director of The Robert Flaherty Film Seminar to pursue filmmaking and is currently producing two documentaries, Elephant in the Room and Mosquito.




Shawn Levy


Shawn Levy is the author of six books, including the New York Times bestsellers Paul Newman: A Life and Rat Pack Confidential.  The former film critic of The Oregonian and senior editor of American Film, he lives, works, and watches soccer in Portland.





David Magdael


David Magdael is owner and founder of David Magdael & Associates, Inc., providing PR expertise for documentary, independent and studio releases. Magdael is considered to be one of the go-to firms in the industry. Films include 5 Broken Cameras, Last Train Home, Super Size Me, Waste Land, and Mad Hot Ballroom.




Jurors for Best Feature are next, stay tuned!