Meet the #AIFF15 Jurors for Best Feature, Best Acting Ensemble and Best Cinematography

Best Feature, the Jim Giancarlo Award for Best Acting Ensemble, and Best Cinematography

Last year, Ashland’s theater and arts community lost a great friend and talent with the sudden passing of Jim Giancarlo, dancer, choreographer, college teacher, artistic director and co-founder of Oregon Cabaret Theatre. A post-it note found inside Jim’s laptop after his death expressed his words: “Quiet the mind. Open the heart. Allow the soul.  All is well. Surrender. Whatever happens is right.”

We here at AIFF are grateful in particular for Jim’s four years as an Advisory Council member, and his three years as a Juror. It gives us great pleasure to celebrate and remember Jim with The Jim Giancarlo Award for Best Acting Ensemble.

And the AIFF15 Jurors are…


Justin Chang



Justin Chang is chief film critic at Variety. He is the author of FilmCraft: Editing (2011), a book of interviews with 17 of the world’s top film editors. He is a member of the National Society of Film Critics and the Los Angeles Film Critics Association.





Juror_Liz Ogilvie Best Feature and Acting

Liz Ogilvie


Liz Ogilvie is Director of Market Programs for Fandor, a subscription-based streaming site. She owned and operated CrowdStarter, a marketing and distribution company. She was a marketing consultant at Tribeca Film, VP of Marketing at B-Side Entertainment, and Head of Programming at Docurama Films.




Kim Yutani


Kim Yutani is a Senior Programmer at the Sundance Film Festival where she is one of the programmers for US and World Cinema dramatic features, oversees short film programming, and is also part of the programming team for Sundance Film Festival Hong Kong Selects. She is currently the Artistic Consultant for Outfest Los Angeles.



Gerald Hirschfeld




The Gerald Hirschfeld A.S.C. Award for Best Cinematography: Feature

Gerald Hirschfield A.S.C. is the Director of Photography of 45+ feature films including Fail Safe and Young Frankenstein. He is the author of Image Control, and a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. He received the A.S.C.’s President’s Award and the AIFF’s Lifetime Achievement Award (2004).